Generator help/ advice. Please (1 Viewer)

Amanda Lloyd

Free Member
Jan 21, 2018
Aylesbury Bucks
Funster No
MH
Fiat Ducato Riviera
Exp
I'm a nebie
Hi All

I am looking at generators for when I'll be wild !
How do I know how much power I need to generate? When asking about one online I received this reply
'
New message from: mids-tools (326,711)
Hi, thanks for the email. This generator has a 13a socket so will need the power lead from the motorhome to have a 13a plug. if it has a 16a round type plug, we sell an adaptor that will convert this.

Please bear in mind that this generator will only power appliances up to a maximum combined load of 750w so you would need to make sure that this isn't exceeded otherwise it will damage the generator

So, is the 16a plug he refers to the EHU?
would 750w be enough to power lights and a fridge?

All help very much appreciated as I'm a total beginner.
Amanda

ambulancekidd

Funster
Sep 23, 2014
Ayrshire Scotland
Funster No
MH
Swift Kon-Tiki 640
Exp
Since 1964 Gosh that makes me feel old.
Yes the 16a plug is for the EHU, but adapters are very cheap & necessary for charging up at home if you want to plug into your house of garage. Can't help with generator though.

pappajohn

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 26, 2007
Dark side of the moon
Funster No
Exp
Since 2005
Yes, 16a is the plugs MAXIMUM rating.
750watts may not be enough power if you have the blown air heating, lights, maybe tv, water pump etc.
It also sounds like it's a 2stroke engine which means carrying oil for the petrol mixture and we'll as petrol itself.
2strokes are noisy, messy, smelly, and did I mention noisy.
Your fridge is more efficient, and cheaper, running on gas rather than generator.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Jan 8, 2013
Dronfield - Derbyshire
Funster No
MH
Burstner Lyseo 690G
Exp
Happy FLT since 2011
Suitcase generators are by far the best - best of the best is probably the Honda ones