Resignation Letters Completed - Retirement here we come (1 Viewer)

stewartwebr

LIFE MEMBER
Jun 6, 2010
Edinburgh
Funster No
MH
Morelo Empire Liner
Exp
36 years and 16 motorhomes
It's been a long time coming but with a very heavy heart I have decided to call it a day and resign from the NHS. My partner and I have been talking about it for around 12 months, financially we don't need to work, we both enjoy our work, he is in a senior executive role with a multi national oil company (Medical Doctor as well ) He is 51 and I am 49. We have spent the weekend discussing it and we both feel that we are both at the stage of our careers where we have succeeded in achieving what we wanted from our career and now feels like the right time to call it a day.
We both penned our letters today and intend to submit tomorrow. We both keep looking at them on the table and burst out laughing, a sort of nervous laugh. We have never worked for any one else except our current employers.
Oh I hope we are doing the right thing. No idea what we are going to do but feels really good at the moment.

Last edited:
Feb 21, 2016
Uk
Funster No
MH
C class
Exp
Since 2017
I doubt you will ever regret it.
Financially,you would be better off to carry on working...that is almost always the case.
But money is not everything and looks like you’ve realised that.
I retired at 57 and no regrets.

Feb 2, 2015
Shropshire, UK
Funster No
MH
A motorhome!
Exp
we are still learning
Don't look back. Look forward to the times that you will enjoy most. We take everything for granted . Dont!
Life is too short...Enjoy it all. The future is..............second star on the right and beyond! Enjoy your trip
~Kev

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

MikeD

Free Member
Dec 21, 2011
London
Funster No
MH
IH PVC
Exp
Since 2012
I retired at 60 - best thing I ever did.

I am sure it will work out for you both and also will become a new and exciting journey in your lives.

Hollyberry

LIFE MEMBER
Apr 24, 2011
New Forest.