Choosing a Satellite TV receiver.. (1 Viewer)

scotjimland

LIFE MEMBER
Jul 25, 2007
Suffolk Coastal District, UK
Funster No
MH
Timberland
There seems to be is a lot of confusion surrounding satellite receivers, what channels are available, what the different services provide and what they are called..
I am not an expert, so if I have made any errors please point them out.

This is my understanding ..

Free To View or FTV

NOT the same as FTA. These are the so-called Free To View channels broadcast by Sky to the UK. To view ALL these channels, you will require a sky box with a viewing card supplied by Sky for a one-off fee of £20 and available by calling Sky directly.

Free to Air or FTA

Free-to-air means that a given channel transmitted from an orbiting satellite is unencrypted and needs no additional hardware or software to decode it other than the standard tuner. You can get many of Sky's FTV channels.. but NOT all, you won't get Channel 4, Film Four, True Movies and many others that are on FTV This type of receiver can be used anywhere in Europe to tune into the many different satellite services such as Hotbird, Nilesat, Eurobird etc

then just to complicate matter we have

Freesat

The BBC and ITV companies combined service to provide around 140 free channels..

IMO , This is the best 'free' service for the UK with the widest choice of free channels, and you can pick it up ( depending on dish size) as far south as Northern Spain. but you cannot tune into any other satellites.

Freeview

Northing to do with satellite TV, the UK digital terrestrial service.

So, when choosing a 'box' make sure you know whether it's a Freesat, FTV or a FTA .. it's easy to get confused and buy something that won't do as you expect.

I had a FTA box in the RV, when we moved into the house it had a redundant Sky dish so we were using that.
It works great but as already said, it doesn't get many of the channels on Freesat, so yesterday I bought a Link Removed.