Free Member
Mar 6, 2008
Cornwall
Funster No
MH
overcab
Exp
2 years
I know this subject has been discussed often but can someone explain to me the difference between a Honda generator cosing several hundred pounds and the generator I can buy for less than £100.00.:whatthe:

ips

Free Member
Jul 3, 2009
Funster No
MH
Low profile
Exp
Have always camped, caravaned or had boats. Now in our second year with the motorhome.
I know this subject has been discussed often but can someone explain to me the difference between a Honda generator cosing several hundred pounds and the generator I can buy for less than £100.00.:whatthe:

One costs over 100
And one costs under a 100 :ROFLMAO:

No seriously.... I am no expert however I beleive that apart from the obvious inferior build quality of cheap ones which are almost certainly chinese, I beleive that cheapo ones dont have a voltage stabilizer thingy majig which could damage "some" of your elecrical items due to inconsistent output.

Small print
The above could of course be totally wrong :thumb:

scotjimland

LIFE MEMBER
Jul 25, 2007
Suffolk Coastal District, UK
Funster No
MH
Timberland
Depends on what you intend to use it for ..

A cheapo is fine for most power tools, emergency lighting etc

If for your van look for one with Inverter technology, otherwise you could blow the electronics on your van charger ..

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Oct 14, 2007
Rochester
Funster No
MH
Auto-Trail Mohawk
Exp
16 fun filled years

The Kippor is a cloned Honda from China. I have the yellow peril and it runs everything on my van icluding LCD TV and laptop

pappajohn

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 26, 2007
Dark side of the moon
Funster No
Exp
Since 2005
IPS is right....

a cheap genny will be of an inferior quality and the voltage wont be stable and fluctuates with engine speed. could be 200v one minute and 270v the next until the engine warms up thoroughly.