Things you wish you had known...? (1 Viewer)

JaM

Free Member
Oct 10, 2017
Lancashire
Funster No
MH
Coach Built
Exp
Total Newbie
Hello,

All a bit new to this as only collected the MoHo last Friday and planning our first week away at end of the month. So, what do you know now that would have been really useful when starting out? Any brilliant ideas you wish someone had told you but you only found out the "Hard-Way"?

TIA :)

OP
OP
JaM

JaM

Free Member
Oct 10, 2017
Lancashire
Funster No
MH
Coach Built
Exp
Total Newbie
That it dumps all the water when the temp goes below 5-8 degs if the boiler is not on. 180 litres in our case!

Dick

Oh? not heard that!

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Jul 29, 2013
Salisbury
Funster No
MH
Hymer B678DL A class
Exp
since 2011
That tyres are date stamped and should be checked as they can blow out if to old and perished as happened to us on the M6.

Dec 30, 2008
Cheshire
Funster No
MH
Coachbuilt
Exp
since Dec 2008 after 10 years caravanning
What turns snow from white to yellow.

Eric

magicsurfbus

Free Member
Oct 11, 2010
NW England
Funster No
MH
Bessacarr Coachbuilt
Exp
Since 1997
To carry a 10 litre plastic watering can for quick water top ups instead of faffing around with hoses, jerry cans and long waits at aire service points.

To carry a robust folding shopping trolley with a removable bag whose frame can be used for transporting jerry cans and bog cartridges to and from service points.

To check on the vehicle's maximum payload before a) purchasing and b) loading it up.

To fit a smart solar charge controller that is designed for specific battery types instead of the cheapest Chinese crap I could find on eBay.

MillieMoocher

LIFE MEMBER
Jul 18, 2015
West Yorkshire
Funster No
MH
Autosleeper Kingham
Exp
40 years under canvas: Motorhome 2016 To 2020
Make sure all cupboards and lockers and fridge and windws and hekis are all shut and locked before setting off.
Wow Anthea thanks for that!