Free Member
Dec 16, 2007
Touring UK
Funster No
MH
39ft American A class RV
Exp
Since Oct 2007
During the two years we toured the USA & Canada did we ever have a condensation problem, the two roof vents were always fully open and most days several windows open as well.

Since returning to the UK in August 2009 the roof vents and windows have barely been opened to conserve heat, this has resulted in condensation on most windows and frames particularly when using hot water for showers,washing dishes, cooking and boiling a kettle to make tea.

Our 39ft RV has three slides, I have no idea what that equals in cubic feet area but at least fellow American RV owners will have a rough idea.

I have no knowledge of dehumidifiers so how do you choose which one to buy, price, tank capacity, moisture removal per day, brand?

Any advice would be gratefully received.

Mick

scotjimland

LIFE MEMBER
Jul 25, 2007
Suffolk Coastal District, UK
Funster No
MH
Timberland
Hi Mick

never used one, we kept the roof vents open and had two 800 watt oil filled rads on, .. condensation was never a problem even in the coldest days .. that's my advice ..

jim

Geo

Trader - Funster
Jul 29, 2007
Mansfield,Notts
Funster No
MH
Autotrail Tracker FB
Exp
45 +years with breaks
For what its worth
In my opinion you will never get the RV dryer than the ambient air, so every time you open a door you will have a bucket of water to dispose of
keeping the van warm as per Jim's post works better IE prevention is better than a cure:thumb:

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Feb 22, 2008
Norfolk
Funster No
MH
Nearly Tugging
Exp
Since 2004
We generally get condensation when cooking etc and have to open vents and windows to clear hadn't considered a de humidifier, more weight to carry but a small unit might be worth considering

OP
OP
MicknPat

MicknPat

Free Member
Dec 16, 2007
Touring UK
Funster No
MH
39ft American A class RV
Exp
Since Oct 2007
Hi Mick