Using motorhome during winter months (1 Viewer)

green machine

Free Member
Jun 9, 2009
Dover, Kent
Funster No
MH
Autotrail
Exp
Since April 2009.
Hi All

I am new to motorhoming and purchased a 2004 Autotrail Apache 700SE in April 2009. We use our M/H most weekends and would like to use it during the winter months. The fresh water tank sits above the waste water tank on the rear axle. Is it possible to insulate the said tanks and are there any other issues that I need to think about. Your help in this matter would be greatly appreciated. I have gleaned so much information from MHF since April. It is good to know that there is a wealth of knowledge out there and so many friendly people.

Thanks in advance

(Newbie) Green Machine :winky::winky::winky:

hilldweller

LIFE MEMBER
Dec 5, 2008
Macclesfield
Funster No
MH
Zilch Mk1
Exp
From Aug 2007
The fresh water tank sits above the waste water tank on the rear axle.
(Newbie) Green Machine :winky::winky::winky:

Sounds like you have a real problem there.

Insulation only reduces heat flow, so no matter how much you fit it's only a matter of time!

Our water tank is inside under a bench. The waste is underneath but all I can see is polystyrene, so far it's not frozen.

I think you may need insulation and an immersion heater in the fresh water tank. Not a trivial job.

Or..... Underfloor heating wire. Soil heating wire. Must be a possibility. Tape to tanks, fit insulation. You'd have to double check what temperature the wire reaches.

May 22, 2008
Funster No
You could keep the waste tank empty by leaving the valve open and catching waste water in a bucket from it and empty the bucket as it fills, Fresh water tank you could fit a heater similar to those used in aquariums subject to voltage? insulating tanks also prevents warmed air getting to them so is a double edged sword as they say, Typical British built van leave vunerable components [Tanks ] outside so they can freeze !!:ROFLMAO::ROFLMAO::ROFLMAO: