Hydraulic levelling or Semi Air (1 Viewer)

Aug 19, 2016
Wokingham
Funster No
MH
C Class
Exp
Ok so I am new to this but have driven 7.5T and lower vehicles all my life and am considering Semi Air on the rear of our Marlin 66 with a Ducato X244 chassis.

I am fairly certain this would improve the ride whilst on the road but;

The question is could I use semi air to firm up on site or would anyone have experience of retro fitted hydraulics as another option.

Just trying to please the long haired general.

funflair

LIFE MEMBER
Dec 11, 2013
Guisborough
Funster No
MH
MORELO palace
Exp
since 2012
HI Martin

Semi air on the rear could be used to level up slightly on site but it will not firm up the suspension, there is a very new 4 channel VB active air system with electronically controlled dampers that will "lock out" and give a relatively stable and level experince on site But if you want the ultimate in levelling and stability you need the hydraulic system in my book.

Note I think that the full 4 channel active is only on the IVECO chassis at the moment and only on Morelo vans OE for the first year, after that others will catch up I'm sure.

Martin

Upvote 0
Jul 13, 2008
Funster No
MH
Low profile
Exp
Since 2007
HI Martin

Semi air on the rear could be used to level up slightly on site but it will not firm up the suspension, there is a very new 4 channel VB active air system with electronically controlled dampers that will "lock out" and give a relatively stable and level experince on site But if you want the ultimate in levelling and stability you need the hydraulic system in my book.

Note I think that the full 4 channel active is only on the IVECO chassis at the moment and only on Morelo vans OE for the first year, after that others will catch up I'm sure.

Martin
I have air bag assist on the rear (semi air ?) and it does "firm up" the rear suspension.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Upvote 0

funflair

LIFE MEMBER
Dec 11, 2013
Guisborough
Funster No