Free Member
Aug 4, 2013
Chesterfield
Funster No
MH
Swift Royale 610LE
Exp
I'm a newbie
Has anyone on this forum have a sprocker spaniel, do they travel well in the motor home. Over the summer we lost both our dogs within a month of each other. (yellow lab and black flat coated retriever)..The house is deathly quiet so we have decided on a sprocker after doing a lot of research, which we pick up at the beginning of November.
We have never had a puppy in the motor home as the previous dogs were both in there later years when we first had it. So the question is do they adapt pretty quickly and how old were they when they were first taken on a short trip.

Jan 2, 2015
Cumbria
Funster No
MH
Burstner Solano t725
Exp
since 2014
Start them young and then little and often is the stock answer but in reality pups are often collected miles from home and have to drive back for, sometimes, hours.

When we bred out two litters of GSD puppies we put them and their mother in their bed into the back of the van at 2 weeks for a few minutes to get used to the different smells. After a few times we switched the engine on for a couple of minutes. After this we drove the vehicle for a few minutes and gradually increased the time. Then the pups were put in the vehicle without mam, as a litter and the process repeated. Then as half litters and then as individuals. When the pups were sold on at 10 weeks they all had travelled individually for 20 minutes in a vehicle. Never had any travelling problems reported back.

If possible try to carry them initially before a feed to lessen the likelihood of sickness.

May 7, 2011
Cornwall Gorran Haven
Funster No
MH
T Line 785
Exp
motorhoming since 1979
Our current cocker ASBO loves the moho, all are dogs ( we've had 7 )have taken to it,very quickly. take the pup on short trips at first .