TV power supply (1 Viewer)

May 29, 2016
Hampshire
Funster No
MH
Carthago C-Line
Exp
Since 2016
Hi all, I'm still pretty new to 12v so I'd like to double check something with you please.

We were always intending buying a proper 12v TV/DVD eventually (so we can use it off hook up) but until then we've been using an old TV/DVD we already had laying around the house. Unfortunately the DVD part gave up on us whilst we were away on hols so we had to go out and buy a replacement locally. A bit annoying but I remember reading on here that most modern TVs are 12v anyway so I wasn't too bothered as we should be able to just replace the power supply with a cigarette lighter one.

I've just bought one of these: Amazon product ASIN B000ZLRXG8Now it has arrived, I can see that on the back of the power supply it says output 12.6V 5.6A.
The TV's own power supply says output 12V 3A

I just want to check my understanding is correct: so long as the voltages match, the different amperages don't matter because they only indicate how much current it is capable of delivering and the TV will still only draw 3A. Correct?

tonka

LIFE MEMBER
Jul 2, 2008
Cannock, Staffs
Funster No
MH
A class Burstner 800
Exp
Since 2000
I just means you have a higher rated power supply, which is good..
the TV will draw 3 amps but the supply is capable of doing more.. So no problems..
Better than having a supply that is right on its limit. They no doubt use that same supply for several different models..

OP
OP
DangerMousy
May 29, 2016
Hampshire
Funster No
MH
Carthago C-Line
Exp
Since 2016
Thanks for confirming what I was thinking......didn't want to blow up the TV lol
Septembers already been a bad (expensive) month....didn't want to add the new TV to the list of things needing fixing or replacing!

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Sep 24, 2013
Norwich
Funster No
MH
Carthago A class
Exp
Since 2014
Just make sure it's the right connector and, more importantly, that the polarity is correct.