Aug 15, 2016
Buckinghamshire
Funster No
MH
Don't own one yet
Exp
I'm a newbie
Hi,

I'm planning to take a 4 month sabbatical next year (May-Aug) to spend some quality time as a family before the kids start school. We've got two girls who will be 3- and 1-year(s) old by that point. The current plan is to buy a motorhome and travel around Europe for the whole 4 months, but we've never had a motorhome or camper van before. More than happy camping though. As a newbie, I've got a few questions I was hoping the kind people of this forum might be able to answer! So here goes:

- We're planning to buy privately rather than through a dealer as we may choose sell (or at least swap) the motorhome when we get back. Of course, we might love it so much that we won't be able to part with it. Does that make sense as a plan?
- Given the length of time we're travelling for, would a 6-berth give us much needed space over a 4-berth, or is a decent 4-berth plenty big enough?
- Are there any features/layouts that would be particularly useful for a 4 month holiday? Bearing in mind the 2 small children as well (e.g. beds in certain locations, garage for "stuff").
- As we'd be travelling almost exclusively on the continent, would LHD make sense over RHD?
- Anything else important we should

Thanks in advance!
Chris

Feb 24, 2013
Bolsover, Derbyshire
Funster No
MH
Hymer S800
Exp
not long enough
A major consideration will probably be the weight you can drive on your licence, unless you have taken an extra test you will be limited to 3.5t, this will restrict your size choices to some degree

nice plan though, hope you make it work (y)

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Upvote 0
Jun 16, 2013
Wiltshire
Funster No
MH
Low Profile Hymer CL 554
Exp
Since May 2014