Aug 8, 2016
north east
Funster No
MH
avantgarde 400
Exp
total newbie
Hi
We are looking to buy an Awning for our motorhome, after looking on various websites we find that the ones we like are not tall enough ( we need 2.9m high). To be fair there is a good selection both pole and inflatable.

I have used a "tent pole" type lightweight awning before on a caravan (suncamp 390 ultimate) which was quite easy to erect and pretty sturdy, but have not used an inflatable- how do they compare to the pole type? are they just as sturdy?

We are looking for something that will give us extra space to say have a drinky, play cards and eat a meal. we are not looking for it to be a sleeping area.

We will need a drive away initially, as we will need the flexibility to drive the MH to shops etc. Also there is a Fiamma F45 fitted which we intend to use on longer stays and when we have alternative transport options ( planning to use either push bikes or a small motorbike)

Any suggestions/ideas on pole or inflatable, taller models and which brand would be really appreciated.

Thanks,
Bob.

weebill

LIFE MEMBER
Oct 1, 2014
aberdeen
Funster No
MH
Coach built
Exp
since 2006
Hi Bob
We have recently purchased a Vango Galli airbeam and found it to be perfect for our needs although it is more suited to UK made vans because it runs parallel to the van.
It is very easy to inflate/deflate and we have had it erected in fairly windy conditions without any issues. It connects to the van with a driveaway kit (purchase separately) which is attached to your Fiamma wind out.
There are a couple of videos on YouTube if you do a search.

There is a small downside in that this awning is fairly heavy at around 30kg but as I said it suits us.

Hope this helps
cheers
Bill

Aug 10, 2012
cambridge
Funster No
MH
Globecar
Exp
since2001
Hi
Just been using a quest spring up 4 sided gazebo for a week

I would give it s 8/10
it lost a point for not including solid sides and a point for been expensive