Washing machine (1 Viewer)

Apr 24, 2014
spain
Funster No
MH
A class
Exp
i'm a newbie
Hi to all we are new to m/h and are planning a few months away mostly wild camping my Q we are looking at buying a small washing / spin machine and wonder what we would need to run it (I.e. Inverter) and can they be used when on the move. We appreciate any advise.

BwB

LIFE MEMBER
Apr 3, 2011
Suffolk UK
Funster No
MH
Resting b'twix vans
Exp
Since 1990
If you're looking at a small automatic washing machine then it is possible to use these when on the move providing you have the means to back it up (water, waste, electric, etc) and enough room and load to install one. It needs a bit of thinking about as most automatics are cold fill only these days but you could plumb the cold input from a hot and cold feed on the van and pre-set your input water using a thermostatic valve. If you get this bit right it means the washing machine heating element won't come on (drawing a lot of power from your inverter). You'd probably need to get the washing machine first and see what the peak consumption is without the heater working before you specify which inverter you need (or over specify the inverter to cover all possibilities). It would need to be a pure sine wave version.

Most regular motorhomes don't have the space/load available to use an automatic washing machine so opt for a "twin tub" type which can be manually filled with water, fairly low power consumption and very light weight (in comparison).

Having done all the above, we found that washing isn't a problem. It's the drying. A simple little spin dryer gets everything almost dry (ours spins at 2200 rpm) and a bit of breeze finishes them off (our current van is much smaller than our last one so space at a real premium). On a long trip though, we save the space and use local launderettes. Either self-serve or leave and collect - works out more convenient for us when away for the winter.

R

Robert Clark

Deleted User