Free Member
Jul 26, 2016
Devon
Funster No
MH
C Class
Exp
Hi everyone

I'm pretty new to motor homing and am in the process of purchasing my first MH.

I need to ask.... is a large (7.7m long) motorhome likely to present me with many problems when travelling around the UK?

Will it restrict where we can and cant go, or is this a fairly normal size vehicle for UK roads, town centres, country lanes etc?

How do others manage with MH's of this size??

Thanks on advance

Apr 28, 2013
Alentejo,Portugal
Funster No
MH
Hymer A Class
Exp
Since the '80,s
My last van was almost 7.5 metres long,the new one is 5.99.
I miss the space obviously but parking in car sized spaces is much easier sometimes.
I had no problems with driving the longer van in the UK,to be honest the long overhang beyond the rear axle on that van was the thing that needed paying the most attention to.
I drove HGV's for years so it wasn't a great issue anywhere except the tightest of turns but just thought something you may want to consider.
Sorry Devonian a big :welcome3: also,you will get all the help you need here.

DBK

LIFE MEMBER
Jan 9, 2013
Plympton, Devon
Funster No
MH
PVC, Murvi Morocco
Exp
Welcome from another (adopted) Devonian.

Lots of folk have big vans and have no problems with them, width is probably more of a factor. I think it really depends where you want to go. I've taken our 6.0m panel van onto Dartmoor and over some humpback bridges where some MHs would probably ground, especially those with long overhangs. We also like to explore off the beaten track roads in Europe and I wouldn't be given a big MH but as is often said, if the local bus can get there then so can a big MH.

If the MH you are thinking about has what you want internally then I am sure it will be fine.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

irnbru

LIFE MEMBER
Jun 27, 2013
Glasgow
Funster No
MH
Benimar 264
Exp
11 yrs
2016-05-02-07-04-07-910145456.jpeg

scousebird

LIFE MEMBER
Apr 18, 2012
South East Kent
Funster No