Silicon grease for self leveling-is this OK? (1 Viewer)

Theonlysue

LIFE MEMBER
Sep 14, 2009
Essex
Funster No
MH
As Executive 50th an
Exp
Not long enough!
Look at this on eBay

Have seen this on ebay is it any good to use on the jacks of the e&p self leveling ?
Thanks,

Sep 26, 2010
North Wales
Funster No
MH
Hymer B654
Exp
Since 2009
I'm no expert on 'greases' but we used to use Silicon Grease for Electronic applications where we needed insulation properties.
I'd think that a 'general purpose' grease may be more appropriate...and maybe cheaper.
But....sure someone will be able to confirm or deny!
John

Feb 24, 2013
Bolsover, Derbyshire
Funster No
MH
Hymer S800
Exp
not long enough
Why do you think it needs it Sue? There might be something else that needs a better look at

Where in the country are you now? I know that the firm that fitted ours, SAP, offer a service on them, he did also say it is more of an inspection than a service, but if near Doncaster he is your man

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Techno

LIFE MEMBER
Deceased RIP
Jul 28, 2010
Leeds the one up North
Funster No
MH
Rapido 7090F 3 litre 160
Exp
May 2010
I'm pretty sure your handbook recommends it but in a spray
I would read it anyway!

OP
OP
Theonlysue

Theonlysue

LIFE MEMBER
Sep 14, 2009
Essex
Funster No
MH
As Executive 50th an
Exp
Not long enough!
In the instructions it says to spray jacks with silicon weekly.
Just wondered if this would be more robust and need doing less often.

R

Robert Clark

Deleted User
I'd stick with the spray option as the grease would be messy to apply and might attract debris

Techno

LIFE MEMBER
Deceased RIP
Jul 28, 2010
Leeds the one up North
Funster No
MH
Rapido 7090F 3 litre 160
Exp
May 2010
In the instructions it says to spray jacks with silicon weekly.
Just wondered if this would be more robust and need doing less often.
If that were the case they would have recommended that.