Battery discharge level / Voltage (1 Viewer)

Bart

Free Member
Jun 4, 2016
Northern Ireland
Funster No
MH
Boxer L4H2 van build
Exp
Since 2016
I'm trying to do some "mock" tests to see how fast my battery power drops down when running all the 12V items that i would prob use in the average day.
But saying as im totally new to all this stuff , but have read to not let the batteries drop below 50%
My question is how do i know when its time to stop using the battery power until it gets recharged.
I have had the TV and lights etc on all day to see how long the battery lasts.
My motorhome is a 2007 Bessacarr E560 and this is a picture if my control panel right now as you can see the battery has dropped to 12.2V

And im pretty sure my leisure battery is 1 x the following :

So i thought i would ask before i got my new batteries , how do you know when to stop using your batteries to avoid doing damage to them.
Is there a certain minimum voltage ?
Do i just go by the above panel and say oh they look like they have 45% used i should stop using battery power now ?
Plus would i be better getting another panel to monitor the batteries when i change it ?

Attachments

• 20160714_183707_resized.jpg
    20160714_183707_resized.jpg
    95.2 KB · Views: 42
Feb 9, 2008
Corby, Northants
Funster No
MH
Coach Built
Exp
Since 2007
Hi, You are correct in thinking, never let batteries drop below 50%, Ideally only let them drop 20% but this will be difficult with only one Leisure battery.
Have a look in the resource section. I have put some information on leisure batteries there including a technical paper which is very comprehensive. Also, if your considering buying another battery have a look at the NCC verified leisure battery scheme (again in the resources section).