Am I even in the right place for demountables? (1 Viewer)

John Oxlade

Free Member
Jul 12, 2016
Hamilton, New Zealand
Funster No
MH
gathering info for projec
Exp
Hi, newbie here....
My wife has been talking for ages about a caravan or mobile home and I'm not too keen on buying a van that we'd need to maintain and perhaps not use a huge amount - we're both self-employed and working 7.5 day weeks and 27 hour days.
So I'm watching George Clarke's Amazing Spaces - as you do - and I wondered to myself, "There's my heavy-duty trailer sitting outside not doing much, I wonder if I could build a demountable caravan/shed on it?"
Well, obviously I CAN build one, but then the logistics kicked in. I reckon it'd be easy enough, a few challenges to overcome but nothing major.
So out came Google, but I didn't really find any sites for self-build demountables. But I ended up here and you seem like a "matey" kind-a group, so I thought I'd join and just ask.
Obviously I can poach ideas from you van-builders as the interior, windows, etc. will all be pretty much universal, just that mine is not going to be on a self-propelled chassis.
So what do you think, am I mad??

Carol

LIFE MEMBER
Oct 2, 2007
North Wales.
Funster No
MH
A class
Exp
18 years s Motorhome (33years caravans)
Hello :pink: to Fun, I'm sure there will be some interesting suggestions for you, sounds like an interesting project

Puddleduck

LIFE MEMBER
Jan 15, 2014
Scottish Borders
Funster No
MH
Without at present
Exp
On and off for many years.
A friend of mine in the USA is building one. Not much use to you I know :(

OP
OP
J

John Oxlade

Free Member
Jul 12, 2016
Hamilton, New Zealand
Funster No
MH
gathering info for projec
Exp
Hello :pink: to Fun, I'm sure there will be some interesting suggestions for you, sounds like an interesting project