Free Member
Jul 7, 2016
France
Funster No
MH
Low Profile
Exp
I'm a newbie
I have recently bought my first motorhome, a French Chausson 610 and have a bit of an issue concerning the gas supply. The Chausson has a gas bottle compartment "designed" to take a French 13 kg bottle, which attaches to the onboard regulator and hose via a simple screw thread connector.

My problem is twofold. Firstly, it is difficult to get a 13 kg bottle into the compartment through the small access door and virtually impossible to lift it out whilst it still contains much gas. Hopefully when the gas is used up I'll be able to do so. Secondly, the compartment only holds the one bottle and so I have no spare for when the gas suddenly does run out.

I would like to use smaller propane bottles so that they will fit easier and allow me to carry a spare in the garage, but the smaller bottles will not connect directly to the existing hose and all seem to require a push fit regulator. I understand you cannot have 2 regulators on the supply and so this would seem not to be possible, other than by removing the onboard reguator.

Can anyone offer any advice on this. BTW, I am in France and so British bottles are not an option for me.

tonka

LIFE MEMBER
Jul 2, 2008
Cannock, Staffs
Funster No
MH
A class Burstner 800
Exp
Since 2000
Not an answer BUT did you not think about this before buying the motorhome ??

Alternative.. Fit a re-fillable bottle that you will never have to lift in and out and gas is also cheaper..
Wont overcome the fact you could run out though.... :(

Kevan

LIFE MEMBER
Jan 18, 2014
Kent and south west France
Funster No
MH
van conversion
Exp
30 years caravan/motorhome
Hi i have a Rapido (french) I can get two 13 kg or bottles of that size in Spanish French or British, But have gone for Gaslow you can fill up anywhere without worrying about lugging heavy gas bottles in or out of a tight gas locker, all gas lockers seem to be two small.(y)

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements