Just downright stuck decal removal and stained GRP. (1 Viewer)

Diesel

Free Member
Oct 7, 2015
Birmingham
Funster No
MH
A class
Exp
im a newbie
Hi All wonder if anyone can help - although probably directly aimed at those with detailing experience inc. Charlie / FJ Mike.

I have decals over the windscreen on my 1999 Hymer A class which have faded and also the GRP in the area is stained or has ingrained contaminants.

I have used heat in attempt to remove decals, the decal separated party peeling off but leaving a Vynl layer still on the MH. The only way i found of removing the vynl was with a scraper which was slow going so i decided if I can get the rest of GRP section half decent and the white colour and gloss restored I will live with it.

Done a test patch, Rotary, 8" wool pad, Farecla P200, P300, P500 and got a decent result (no pic of area though) however on moving the section where the ingrained mould / contaminants is is has not touched it. I have also tried APC in varying dilutions and Tardis to no avail.

I am tempted to now try and remove vynl, but what is next step for gelcoat - wet sand?

PS - there are already some marks where it looks like prior to my ownership a scotch pad or similar has been used - see pic 2.

BROKEN LINK

BROKEN LINK

BROKEN LINK

BROKEN LINK

BROKEN LINK

funflair

LIFE MEMBER
Dec 11, 2013
Guisborough
Funster No
MH
MORELO palace
Exp
since 2012
1000 or 2000 grade wet and dry and then rotary polish with a foam pad should sort the gel coat.

Try a little bit first though(y)

Martin

OP
OP
Diesel

Diesel

Free Member
Oct 7, 2015
Birmingham
Funster No
MH
A class
Exp
im a newbie
Cheers @funflair - im not familiar with grits - so 1000 (Grittiest) or 2000 should polish out of gelcoat ok?

Im pretty sure if I even attempt to get the Vynl off - wet sand will be need to correct damage I cause - Ill need to go buy some paper...

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

funflair

LIFE MEMBER
Dec 11, 2013
Guisborough
Funster No
MH