Free Member
Mar 26, 2016
Bedfordshire
Funster No
MH
Don't own one yet
Exp
I'm a newbie
Hi we are off to France in a couple of weeks traveling to the Loire valley and then down to the dordogne. Our vet has recommended that we should purchase a collar to protect our dog from sand flies for anywhere in France, Is this something anyone uses and would you definitely recommend. First time of taking our dog out of the UK so want to make sure we are doing the right thing.

Thanks Jo

TheBig1

LIFE MEMBER
Nov 27, 2011
Dorset
Funster No
MH
A class
Exp
many many years! since I was a kid
i prefer to use the spot on for fleas ticks sand flies and mange

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Jan 10, 2013
Near Uttoxeter and Crete
Funster No
MH
Warwick XL PVC
Exp
Still trucking and learning
Some doggies can have an allergic reaction to the Scalibor collar - we aways used to use Advantix spot on which guards against ticks, fleas and sand flies. I believe there is also a vaccination available now which guards against sand flies/Leishmaniasis, although it is a course of injections and it may be too late for you to arrange this.
http://www.animal-doctors.net/page9.htm

DBK

LIFE MEMBER
Jan 9, 2013
Plympton, Devon
Funster No
MH
PVC, Murvi Morocco
Exp
Hi we are off to France in a couple of weeks traveling to the Loire valley and then down to the dordogne. Our vet has recommended that we should purchase a collar to protect our dog from sand flies for anywhere in France, Is this something anyone uses and would you definitely recommend. First time of taking our dog out of the UK so want to make sure we are doing the right thing.

Thanks Jo
As mentioned, the Scalibor collar or Advantix. These protect against ticks as well as sand flies and ticks are a major problem now because of the diseases they carry. Sand flies are mostly nocturnal so less likely to be encountered but the same measures work for both.

movan

LIFE MEMBER
Dec 2, 2009
Moving around
Funster No
MH
Burstner
Exp
since07