Hymer B644 Fiat Ducato Gearbox lost 5th gear (1 Viewer)

reynardracer

Free Member
Aug 10, 2015
Twyford
Funster No
MH
A class Hymer
Exp
I'm a newbie
Whilst travelling home from Silverstone last evening I lost 5th gear. By that I mean all other gears worked fine but when I tried to select 5th all I got was graunching! Obviously something has happened to the selector mechanism. Has anyone else suffered this issue. My Hymer is a 2000 model and has the Fiat 2.8 TD engine I think as I cannot find where the engine identification is.

Any recommendations for someone to fix this for me. I live in Twyford near reading.

Many thanks

Peter

Jan 25, 2013
Dorchester, Dorset, UK
Funster No
MH
Sad former owner
Exp
Since 1991
Oh dear, but welcome to the Fiat "hunt the gears" club. I lost all but third and fourth in the middle of Belgium. It made getting home "interesting"! I'd love to be able help you, but you do have my sympathies.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

OP
OP
R

reynardracer

Free Member
Aug 10, 2015
Twyford
Funster No
MH
A class Hymer
Exp
I'm a newbie
Thanks for the reply. Any idea where to buy the parts. I am being told they are becoming hard to find.

dave newell

Free Member
Oct 31, 2008
Telford, Shropshire
Funster No
MH
Home converted PVC
Exp
26yrs
Whatever you do if this happens do not continue driving the vehicle, pull over as soon as safely possible and call your recovery service. I have an older Talbot Express in at the moment which dropped fifth going over the Milau viaduct last August, they didn't stop but continues on in fourth gear. Couple of miles later the box shat itself completely leaving them requiring uplift repatriation to home. With a second hand gearbox getting more difficult to locate and a new clutch and engine mountings there won't be change out of £850 for this job.

D.

Lee27

Free Member
Aug 23, 2015
Lancs
Funster No
MH
Hymer B644GL
Exp
since 2007
Hi Peter