Mar 26, 2016
Bedfordshire
Funster No
MH
Don't own one yet
Exp
I'm a newbie
Hi

We have been looking for a good camp site in or around Saumur and wondered if anyone can recommend one. We have seen one which is around a 15 minute walk from the town and on the river, ( which is perfect) but it seems really expensive for one night. Being new to all this I would appreciate some advice and any suggestions of sites.

Thanks

Jo

RowleyBirkinQC

LIFE MEMBER
Sep 20, 2014
Dazed & Confused
Funster No
MH
A Class
Exp
Since 2007
I think we tried to get in the same campsite in June last year, but arrived just as the "Full" sign went out. We ended up driving out of there, turning right away from town and over river, then right again alongside the river to find another campsite a couple of miles away. I can't recall the name, but I think it may have been "Domaine de la Brèche" based on Google. It's quite a big holiday site with good facilities, nice restaurant just outside the gates, bar and shops onsite.

Last edited:
Sep 26, 2013
Market Rasen
Funster No
MH
Self Build
Exp
Since 2003
The one we have used is the nearest one to the town which is l'I'll de Offard situated on an island in the river directly opposite the town. I thought that this site took the ACSI card.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Camdoon

LIFE MEMBER
Sep 22, 2012
UK
Funster No
MH
Adria Matrix Supreme
Exp
The Flowers camp site in the Ile d'Offard is the old municipal site. It is certainly the easiest for walking into town. We were last there a couple of years ago and the pitches with the best view overlooking the castle were being taken over by small huts/chalets. The site appeared to be quite tired but presumably Flowers are in the process of remedying that. It is always an interesting site as there is a mixture of huts, campers, tuggers and people with tents cycling the Loire. There are numerous Aires in the vicinity and a number of vans appear to park opposite the tank museum.

parknride