Safe to start after 12 months? (1 Viewer)

M

michaelp

Deleted User
Hello forum,

I've been living in my '89 Hymer B694 for a year while on contract work away from home. I bought it for this purpose so I have plenty of experience living in it but know nothing about the mechanical side. It had just been MOT'd when I got it, It hasn't seen a garage or mechanic in the time I've had it. It's a FIAT chassis with a 2.5 litre diesel engine, no turbo.

My contract is about to end and I'll be going home so I need to get it road-worthy. I have driven it about 400 miles in total, with no problems, but I haven't started the engine for nine months (I moved it 20 yards to change pitch in December). I'm scared to start it! Should I be? I expect a lot of steam and smoke when I turn the ignition key but I'm worried something could have seized up with it being parked for so long, and through the winter (the water pipes froze up over Christmas / new year!)

Thanks in advance.

Michael

Last edited by a moderator:

Peter JohnsCross MH

Funster
Deceased RIP
Jan 5, 2008
East Sussex
Funster No
MH
Autotrail
Exp
Hi,

Only problem you might have is the clutch plate sticking to the flywheel, if so, put it in gear and put your foot on the footbrake and turn the key.

It should then break the seal.

Never leave an engine standing, always start it once a week and move the van a foot so the tyres change position as well.

Good luck

Peter

OP
OP
M

michaelp

Deleted User
Thanks Peter, I'll try and be more sensible in future. Honest!

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

slickmouse

Free Member
Dec 30, 2007
Planet Mars next 2 Uranus
Funster No
MH
Winne/DAF Coach
I would put a wee bit of oil into it, then disconnect the wire to the heater plugs this will let it turn over and get the oil pressure up, then re-connect and start it up dont rev it and let it idle until all the temps look good.