LIFE MEMBER
Jun 21, 2013
Europe
Funster No
MH
Hymer 564
Exp
Since 2010
I have been told that you have to book your campsite before making a ferry reservation. No wild camping at all :(

Mikey RV

LIFE MEMBER
Mar 7, 2010
Devon
Funster No
MH
Burstner Elegance I821G
Exp
Since 1977
Jersey has two campsites I think, you have to get a pass to let you drive from the port to the campsite. You are not allowed to drive around the island. We were there in a car in August this year and thought how difficult it would be to drive round the island in our motorhome. A small VW size van would be fine get to lots of really nice out the way places.

Aug 18, 2015
Somerset
Funster No
MH
Low profile
Exp
I'm a newbie
Hi pat-c
I looked into doing this a while ago, apparently there are 3 campsites that you have to use, no wild camping!
You book firstly with the campsite which they then apply for and sort out a permit for you and the ferry . It was a no go for us as out van is to long for the ferry I can't remember if it had to be shorter than 6 or 7 metres long. Hope this helps.

MikeandCarolyn

Free Member
Mar 18, 2008
Worle,North Somerset
Funster No
MH
Coachbuilt
Exp
Since 2009
We visited Jersey in our Volvo S60 and found driving around a bit tight :D We had the same thoughts as Mikey rv.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

GWAYGWAY

Free Member
Sep 6, 2014
Dover
Funster No
MH
Hymer ML I 580
Exp
4 years
What would the point be it would be cheaper to get B&B with a hire car that you can drive about with, rather than a very dear metal tent stuck on a site in the middle of no where. Ferry cost will be through the roof for a 7 mtr van.

Jul 24, 2010
Planet Earth (I think)
Funster No
MH
A Class
Exp
not long enough
Things to consider before taking a motorhome to Jersey...

Copied and pasted from gov.je as I can't do the link

Visiting caravans and motorhomes

Visitors wishing to bring a caravan or motorhome to the Island can do so provided: