Leisure and Vehicle Battery Charging by SP (1 Viewer)

Dec 23, 2014
South Somerset
Funster No
MH
Carthago C-Line I 50
Exp
Since 2009
Carthago Chic C-Line with 2 x leisure batteries and a single vehicle battery. 140w SP fitted by Southdowns. I expected all the batteries to be charged by the SP but at present, on this nice sunny day my leisure batteries are showing 13.0v and the vehicle battery is sitting at 12.7v. I suspect that it is not being charged by the SP. Please ask if you need more info to assist.

R

Robert Clark

Deleted User
I'm not a solar expert, though I also have solar panels in my Carthago Chic, though mine were fitted by Vanbitz
The voltages you mention seem right to me
The solar charges the leisure batteries and the engine battery will take a small charge from the leisure batteries if the voltage drops too low, they are not connected otherwise
In the UK the charge from the solar is still not great as its only March and the sun is still low in the sky

Lenny HB

LIFE MEMBER
Oct 18, 2007
On the coast in West Sussex
Funster No
MH
Hymer B678 DL
Exp
Since 2008 & many years tugging
Depends if the dealer has fitted a dual output regulator or solar split charge relay, if not the engine battery won't charge. If they have fitted either, the engine battery still won't charge until the leisure batteries are up to about 13.6 volts with a split charge rear or maybe more with a dual output regulator depending how it has been set up.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

OP
OP
Dorset Diver
Dec 23, 2014
South Somerset
Funster No
MH
Carthago C-Line I 50
Exp
Since 2009
The fitted unit is as the photo attached if that is of any help.
P1010339.JPG

pappajohn

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 26, 2007
Dark side of the moon
Funster No
Exp
Since 2005
Thats a standard charge controller feeding your leisure batteries only unless there been a stand alone split charge relay fitted somewhere.
If its charging both then the battery voltages should be about the same with the sun shining.