Free Member
Mar 5, 2016
Newcastle under Lyme
Funster No
MH
Coach built Hymer
Exp
Absolute beginner
Hello everyone, March is going to be the longest month ever as we have just spent our 3 kids inheritance. Last week we ordered our motorhome for collection on 1st April. We have had a static caravan on the beach at Tywyn (mid Wales) One of my interests is video, you can see my walk along the beach here our static is one of those about 3 minutes in.

We have often talked about touring, last year my wife said she fancied a motorhome, the seed probably sown at the Caravan & Motorhome Show at the NEC in February last year. We went just for a day out - as you do, and were totally overwhelmed. With the seed now germinating we went to a motorhome show in Stafford just down the road in the summer. It was there where we realised my idea of a motorhome (Mazda Bongo conversion) and my wife's were about £50,000 apart so we gave up the idea. However the touring itch was now established, so I convinced my bride to try towing a touring van. I bought a complete outfit, 12 year old Avondale, awning the works to give it a go. She likes touring but hates towing.

So with time on our hands off we went to the NEC about a week ago, and spent a few hours looking at motor homes - with no budget and no intention of buying. We saw some very VERY nice vans. It would seem the gap between our ideas about motorhomes was closing.

After some serious conversation, about what we want out of life, a health scare, which turned out to be not so serious after all, and the realisation I'm 70 in 6 years time, HELL!
Lets just do it! We went over to Travel World in Telford to look at a used van and ended up with a new 2015 Hymer with a cracking discount.