LIFE MEMBER
Sep 5, 2014
Cheltenham Spa
Funster No
MH
Rapido
Exp
im a not so newbie
Sorry for the new post my phone wouldn't let me do a search.

Can I tether abroad using the 3 network on £20 pay as you go.

I want to use the sim in my unlocked phone and tether a mac and maybe an ipad to the phone.

The customer advisor suggested unofficially it can be done but couldn't sell the sim saying yes.

Help please
Regards confused from Cheltenham

Deleted User
We have a contract phone that you cannot tether with.

And a PAYG mifi that you can obviously tether to.

Dunno if that helps you or not!!

Mar 11, 2014
Lincs
Funster No
MH
PVC
Exp
Since 2010
Theoretically if it's a data only sim then tethering is not a problem but if it's a phone sim with data allowance then tethering is not allowed.

There are various reports from people who do manage to tether to their phone sim with no problems, those who manage to do so for a short while before 3 cuts them off and those who are just not able to.

If you definitely want to tether with 3 then the best solution is a data only sim with a mifi.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

flatpackchicken

LIFE MEMBER
Jun 27, 2010
BICESTER OXFORDSHIRE
Funster No
MH
A Class Frankia I8000
Exp
Since nov 2009

I want to use the sim in my unlocked phone and tether a mac and maybe an ipad to the phone.

The customer advisor suggested unofficially it can be done but couldn't sell the sim saying yes.

Help please

I have a monthly contract with 3 for my I phone and all free and unlimited except max 12gb for tethering in the UK for £32 per month but I cannot tether anywhere outside the UK so I think the phone sim card is only for tethering in UK but I get all free in France Spain Italy Scandinavia so perfect for me suggest you get a mifi to be able to connect with in Europe
Regards Garry Flatpackchicken

Mar 11, 2014
Lincs
Funster No
MH
PVC
Exp
Since 2010