Hired a motorhome for a May try out in Eire... (1 Viewer)

BevB

Free Member
Jan 18, 2016
Yorkshire
Funster No
MH
Don't own one yet.
Exp
I'm a newbie.
Hi MF members.. l have hired a 5 berth T-Line for the end of May 2016.. Ferry booked Holyhead to Dublin.. This is only for 8 days.. l'm looking for any advice on stay overs/sites/parking... places.. Dublin, Waterford, Cork, Killarny, "Ring of Kerry" etc... all advice on routes, recommendations for restaurants /cafes/bars etc..most welcome... Do's and don'ts
Thank you in anticipation. . BevB ..newbie!!!!!!

Fat Rat

Free Member
Mar 12, 2015
West Wales
Funster No
MH
Swift Escape 664
Exp
Hello again Bev,
I've just seen this post and noticed your doing the Holyhead to Dublin crossing. Just bear in mind that travelling through Ireland will be slow, although there are some new roads (motorways) the bulk of the roads are A/B roads. I travelled from Clondalkin (just outside Dublin) to Rosslare to get the 14.30 ferry and I left at 9 am, I nearly never made it (I was the last vehicle let on). The biggest hold ups are in town with the 'triple parking' and can take an age to get through. Bear in mind that Kerry is almost 200 miles from Dublin and there is no fast way to get there and back. If I were you, decide either the east coast or west and travel the most direct route to pace yourself for the route back. Everyone and everything is laid back so my only do's would be to keep a map on board and a campsite book rather than relying on Sat Nav and the internet. I found I preferred to stay at a Campsite rather than wild camping although you can http://wildcamping.moonfruit.com/ireland-w-c/4572721487

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Nov 30, 2009
Pickering
Funster No
MH
PVC the PUG
Exp
Since 2009 with motorhomes several caravans then tents before that.
Hello and welcome Bev , from another Bev ( and Ralph !) from Yorkshire.