Hebrides Island Hopscotch (1 Viewer)

N

N Luyetund

Deleted User
Hi folks i posted this in another thread and would like some help please as I have no knowledge of the Hebrides and the suitability of some of the roads for a 7m m/h...

I'm hoping to get on a short course at Sabhal mor Ostaig on Skye and had thought of making the most the 500 mile trip up by taking in the Western Isles...

e.g. SKYE (Mallaig-Armadale), HARRIS (Uig-Tarbert), LEWIS (Leverburgh-Berneray) and UIST (Lochboisdale-Oban) using CalMac's Island Hopscotch ferry deal.

Don't want to wildcamp as I prefer to use sites ...are there any?

Plus are the roads twixt the ferry ports above suitable for a 7m M/H please?

Post any helpful answers on this thread... write smart Rs answers on the back of a £20 note and send to Jim to support the forum:winky:

Milo

Free Member
Jan 20, 2009
Lancaster, UK
Funster No
MH
Campervan
Exp
There are very few sites in the Western Isles (Outer Hebrides) and those few are very small, but overnight parking up is unlikely to cause offence. 7 - 8yrs ago on Harris we spent one night on what is still the worst site I've ever visited (small, v boggy, v ancient and few facilities), but don't be put off!

Even if only half of your weather is good, you should have a really good adventure. The Western Isles are moving up my lengthening list of places to which I really do want to return.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

OP
OP
N

N Luyetund

Deleted User
Moran taing Jim

... when I saw the link I thought 'Jeez, haven't even started the beginner's course in Gaelic':ROFLMAO:

...but of course it's in English for the tourists....:Doh:

OP
OP
N

N Luyetund

Deleted User
Even if only half of your weather is good, you should have a really good adventure. The Western Isles are moving up my lengthening list of places to which I really do want to return.