Free Member
Dec 8, 2015
Cambridge
Funster No
MH
A Class
Exp
I'm a newbie
Hi we have a Dometic fridge which we are generally happy with but we can't figure out why when we set it to automatic it keeps wanting to switch to gas when we have electric hook up? Also when we are on the road it does the same when it should be switching to the leisure battery....any ideas what we might be doing wrong? Thanks, Jackie

BwB

LIFE MEMBER
Apr 3, 2011
Suffolk UK
Funster No
MH
Resting b'twix vans
Exp
Since 1990
If the fridge works OK when manually selecting the energy source (and therefore then12v and 240v supply are known ro be good) then your fridge controller board may have gone faulty. One of my previous vans had this problem so it can happen. The boards are not cheap though :(

Upvote 0
Apr 25, 2012
Near Truro, Cornwall
Funster No
MH
A Class
Exp
Ours has done that when on hook up but only on sites where the power supplied has been low or subject to heavy drain with lots of vans on site (happened a lot in Morocco). Never had it happen in the Uk though. And I assume when you say it tries to switch to gas when you are on the road, you mean it tries but can't switch (because you wouldn't be driving with the gas supply connected).

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Upvote 0
OP
OP
Jackie.Kearley

Jackie.Kearley

Free Member
Dec 8, 2015
Cambridge
Funster No
MH
A Class
Exp
I'm a newbie
Thanks for your advice.

Ahhh it could be that as it was working fine in the UK and o this site until last night but there are a lot of people on this site. Yes when on the road it did go to battery but is not consistent?

Hope it's not a fault on the fridge controller board as we've only been using it a week it's brand new :(

Upvote 0

BwB

LIFE MEMBER
Apr 3, 2011
Suffolk UK
Funster No
MH
Resting b'twix vans
Exp
Since 1990
They can be sensitive to voltage (low) but ours had an orange warning light show if that happened. Probably not your board if a new one. Maybe a loose connector?