Help need to add a second leisure battery (1 Viewer)

Michelle CV

Free Member
Sep 2, 2015
Nottingham
Funster No
MH
Low Profile Coachbuilt
Exp
I'm a newbie
Hi, just wondered if anyone can give me any advice re adding a second leisure battery. The one fitted is a Varta Dual Purpose Gel battery, (90amp) and it is under the driver's seat. There appears to be space in front of it to add another. Please can you help me understand how to wire the batteries together and also advise me re battery purchase. Thank you.

Techno

LIFE MEMBER
Deceased RIP
Jul 28, 2010
Leeds the one up North
Funster No
MH
Rapido 7090F 3 litre 160
Exp
May 2010
In parallel +ve to +ve and -ve to -ve

Take the load off opposite corners. This picture is showing two batteries that connect to two further batteries so the cables leaving through the hole are not the load but additional interconnects.

CA_11081517504478-L.jpg

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Last edited:

pappajohn

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 26, 2007
Dark side of the moon
Funster No
Exp
Since 2005
Make sure the second battery is also a gell battery.
They have a different charge requirement to flooded acid batteries.

Capacity doesnt matter as the charger only sees one large battery, not a big un and a small un.
A 90ah and a 110ah will be seen as one 200ah battery by the charger.

Age, on the other hand, does matter though.
An older battery wont be as efficient at taking a charge as a new one and the total capacity will be lower than expected.

Lenny HB

LIFE MEMBER
Oct 18, 2007
On the coast in West Sussex
Funster No
MH
Hymer B678 DL
Exp
Since 2008 & many years tugging
For a start Varta don't make 90A/H Gel battery, If it is a Gel battery it is most likely to be an Exide G80 or a Sonnenschein SL75 both the same, both made by Sonnenschein. You need to check which type of battery you have and if more than a year old best to fit 2 new batteries.