just how good should my 2.8 fiat pull? (1 Viewer)

friar tuck

Free Member
Nov 15, 2011
redruth cornwall
Funster No
MH
a class rv
Exp
im a newbie
ok i know this is like how long is a piece f string. i have a 2000 year autotrail tag axle cheiftan,its fitted with a fiat 2.8 td engine no ecu or fancy electronics just a turbo.
i am pleased with the economy as last summer on a trip through france towing a small trailer and motorcycle i averagered 25mpg,however it does seem to struggle on very slight long motorway inclines even more so if theres a head wind and i feel im using 4 th gear far more than i should.i believe there are two 5 th gear ratios available as my van but as i have no rev counter im taking a guess that i have the long legged 5th as theres quite a gap between 4 th and 5th.im now pulling a bigger trailer with a 4x4 quad on it and i feel as if 5th gear is for downhill or tailwind situations only. has anyone else had experience with this engine,when in use my motorhome is weighing approx 4000kilo and the quad and trailer weigh 600kilo.the bike and trailer only weighed 250 kilo.
thanks in advance.

Attachments

• 2015-05-15 17.19.46.jpg
    2015-05-15 17.19.46.jpg
    371.9 KB · Views: 73

Minxy

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 22, 2007
E Yorks
Funster No
MH
Carthago Compactline
Exp
Since 1996, had Elddis/Swift/Rapido/Rimor/Chausson MHs. Autocruise/Globecar PVCs/Compactline i-138
To be honest you're pulling a heavy beast of a MH on an 'old' engine, so it's never gonna fly! Are you guessing at the real weight of your MH and trailer or have you actually taken the unit to a weighbridge? We used to have a 1.9td of around the same vintage on a 3,500kg Elddis and it wasn't bad but wasn't great either, however it was a lot better than the non-turbo 2.8 we changed it for!

Out of interest what's the top speed you get without a trailer at all?

Jul 13, 2008
Funster No
MH
Low profile
Exp
Since 2007