12 volt converter for my Hymer (1 Viewer)

reynardracer

Free Member
Aug 10, 2015
Twyford
Funster No
MH
A class Hymer
Exp
I'm a newbie
I recently bought a 2000 Hymer with a 12 volt outlet which connected to an outdated satellite TV system. I have removed this TV and replaced it with a new 12 volt/240 volt TV. Main issue is that the 12 volt plug on the new TV is different to the one in the Hymer. Is it possible to get a plug converter or do I have to replace the plug in the van or the plug on the TV lead.

Many thanks
Peter

scotjimland

LIFE MEMBER
Jul 25, 2007
Funster No
MH
A Woosh bang
Or you can buy a converter, as I did.
Broken Link Removed

yes indeed ..

but good electrical practice is to have as few as possible plugs and or connectors in a circuit.. because every joint or connector you introduce is another place for a fault to develop... also another place for potential high resistance, resulting in heat build up and loss of voltage

would only use or suggest if there were no other option..

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Lenny HB

LIFE MEMBER
Oct 18, 2007
On the coast in West Sussex
Funster No
MH
Hymer B678 DL
Exp
Since 2008 & many years tugging
Agree with Jim, the sockets on those adaptors are diabolical, plugs work loose in them and arc, I nearly had a fire with one.
The standard fit 12v socket in my Hymer is just as bad, I don't use it and fitted a Hella socket, much safer.

mustaphapint

Free Member
Oct 9, 2015
Worcestershire and Brittany
Funster No
MH
A Class
Exp
Just starting
yes indeed ..

but good electrical practice is to have as few as possible plugs and or connectors in a circuit.. because every joint or connector you introduce is another place for a fault to develop... also another place for potential high resistance, resulting in heat build up and loss of voltage

would only use or suggest if there were no other option..