Sep 5, 2014
Cheltenham Spa
Funster No
MH
Rapido
Exp
im a not so newbie
Morning all

So the MH is booked flights are booked and stop overs booked.
I now need to get to the nitty gritty of the subject so close to many of our hearts money

What's the general consensus of how to pay for things ie shopping fuel tips etc.
I have signed up for a pre load Thomas Cook card but had a look at some of the fees and they seemed a bit steep.
The card is a Mastercard pre load.
I prefer to use something I know how much is on it and what the exchange rate is.

Any help much appreciated.
The trip is in March 2016.

Cossieg

Free Member
Jan 25, 2013
Yate for the summer!
Funster No
MH
None now
Exp
I'm using a travelex supercard in Portugal and it has b v good so far. Exchange rate seems ok and no chrages for getting cash which is a saving.

Keen to hear about your trip, we ship our van to NZ next year and then plan a 6 month tour in it.

Have you got a 3 sim to use?

Oct 15, 2012
Market Harborough
Funster No
MH
C Class Laika Ecovip 7R
Exp
We visit NZ at least every 18 months and the USA yearly as well as Europe and have found the HalifaxClarity card to be excellent. The only problem we had was using it to buy fuel in Italy. When we tour NZ we stay in BB, lodges and small hotels, as much as we love Motorhoming we find this much cheaper. :)

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

OP
OP
Silver-Fox

Silver-Fox

LIFE MEMBER
Sep 5, 2014
Cheltenham Spa
Funster No
MH
Rapido
Exp
im a not so newbie
Looked into 3 sim. I was told by a guy in the store it's good for calling back to the uk but if used in NZ you get charged for roaming.

We will be using Skype and only need a phone for emergencies.

I need to check costing of getting a sim over in NZ and going pre pay.
2gb a month should be plenty I think.

I was also told you can't use a phone sim in an ipad or tether an ipad to a phone on pre pay.

It's a mine field out there

OP
OP
Silver-Fox

Silver-Fox

LIFE MEMBER
Sep 5, 2014