Apr 15, 2013
Saltford
Funster No
MH
Hymer A class
Exp
Since 2013
Hello all,

Could you point me to the most helpful thread on here to find a new camera. I am a complete novice. I have A Panasonic Lumix but have no real idea of what it does. A hopeless case I know. Do I stick with the Lumix and find out how to use it? (This could possibly be by virtual lessons on here.....), or go for something else.

I'm asking because we are off to Rajasthan in January (whoopee!) and I don't think the Lumix will do the photos justice (that could also read I don't think I could do the photos justice.....)!

I would like something that gives me a wide lens with the ability of getting closer than 100 yds away to get it all in and getting a rubbish picture in the process.

If there are beginners lessons on this thread, please point me in that direction and if there aren't - shouldn't there be? ;)

Thanks in anticipation,

Geraldine :)

Big bus man

Free Member
Sep 20, 2015
Crawley
Funster No
MH
Coachbuilt
Exp
Since March 2015
Hi Geraldine,
There is a photography thread on the main page.
As for cameras you want small and simple, most cameras over say £80 will give good results but expect to pay around £400 for a quality point and shoot camera, what you need to look at is the processor, there are two basic types; CMOS and the CCD sensor, CMOS is what is used on the quality cameras so this is what you are looking for, don't go for the largest number of pixels, you only need about 10MP. Next is do you want video, this uses large amounts storage and battery power, also regarding batteries consider if it has a rechargeable cell or uses standard batteries.
To summarise - I would be looking to pay between £300-400; a Nikon or Canon; with a CMOS sensor; at least 10 megapixels; with a rechargeable battery plus 2 spare batteries; with a good power zoom lens; and a 64GB memory card.
Hope this helps.
Graham.

GeriatricWanderer

Free Member
Feb 1, 2015
Ouagadougou, Burkina Faso, just cos I can!