Wanting to buy my first motorhome. (1 Viewer)

Billynixon

Free Member
Oct 27, 2015
London
Funster No
MH
Don't own one yet
Exp
I'm a newbie
Hello, I'm looking for a motorhome preferable coach built and nothing too dated. Have around £5,000 to spend. Is there anything out there? Thanks.

Oct 5, 2012
Ayrshire
Funster No
MH
Carado T132
Exp
5 years, feel free to ask me about the Carado!!
Hello, I'm looking for a motorhome preferable coach built and nothing too dated. Have around £5,000 to spend. Is there anything out there? Thanks.
For that kind of price range it will probably be quite old, (unless you are very lucky) so budget for replacing things that deteriorate with age and mileage and have a tame mechanic on hand (yourself?) or a good warranty !!! 5K does not go too far in the MH world :( I found this one
http://www.preloved.co.uk/adverts/show/113947333/swift-kon-tiki-motorhome-price-reduced.html

Bear in mind that as winter approaches so theoretically your bargaining power goes up, as some people may want to be shot of the MH rather than store it for the winter.

Last edited:

Armytwowheels

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 10, 2012
Market Harborough
Funster No
MH
Carthago S Plus - Iveco
Exp
Since 2011
Hello Billynixon and welcome.

Your budget is small but doable if you are able to do a bit of maintenance and improvements yourself. But as for not wanting 'dated' the older ones are usually better made (if they have been cared for) so keep your mind open as to age and style. A modern coach built for £5,000 is going to be a hard search. Plenty of scams about at that price too so be careful.

A bit more information of size, how many travelling etc would help?

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

TheBig1

LIFE MEMBER
Nov 27, 2011
Dorset
Funster No
MH
A class
Exp
many many years! since I was a kid
£5000 will buy a 20 year old motorhome so your requirement for "nothing too dated" is pretty much impossible.