Is it me or the van? (1 Viewer)

David C

Free Member
Jun 9, 2009
Funster No
Hi I'm new to this lark and have bought a Talbot express Talisman Autosleeper but after first outing last year I came home with a very painful left leg.
The clutch seems so strong it quite an effort to depress it at each gearchange. I know its an old van G reg 60,000miles 2.5 diesel but if this is how it should be I will have to give up the idea. I fetched it from storage today and after only a couple of miles my leg was aching again. Is this a feature of the transmission of the old Talbot or is it that I am too old.
Regards to you all

gypsylady

Free Member
Jun 24, 2008
Durham
Funster No
MH
A Happy One
Exp
Since 2005
Talbot Clutch

Have you tried another Talbot to see what the clutch is like on that one? (could try around the salesrooms to find another old van)

OR Why not contact a Talbot Dealer and see what their response is?

Sorry to hear you have been unhappy with your new hobby as most of us are having a great time.

Hope things get better and we see you out at a rally some time in the future.

OP
OP
D

David C

Free Member
Jun 9, 2009
Funster No
Thanks for suggestions, I will try to find one for sale.
Its a pity as its a very nice van which we bought from a lovely GYPSYLADY called Lolypop.
Of course the van is now called Lolypop

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Last edited:

Geo

Trader - Funster
Jul 29, 2007
Mansfield,Notts
Funster No
MH
Autotrail Tracker FB
Exp
45 +years with breaks
No it should not be that heavy, unless you have legs like twiggy:Eeek:
have it checked out for seized components, starting at the pedal and work your way through to the clutch actuating arm, as a last resort a new clutch will fix it, so long as all the other moving parts have been checked:thumb: I would suggest a new cable first, but I think yours is hydraulic:Doh:
Geo

ourcampersbeentrashed

Free Member
Apr 19, 2008
East London
Funster No
MH
C Class
Exp
well over 5 years