Battery charging solar panels. (1 Viewer)

Charlie

Free Member
May 16, 2015
Herefordshire / Worcestershire borders .
Funster No
MH
Auto Sleeper Kemerton.
Exp
Im a newbie
Anyone use them ?

Just thinking about adding one onto the vehicle battery. Do they go inside or outside the window ? I would much prefer on that goes inside.

I believe we should only use a low power one ?

Any recommendations to a good quality reliable one welcome. I dont mind paying more for a nice reliable quality one as I hate cheap junk.

As always Thanks !

C

Chockswahay

Deleted User
@Charlie I had a few suggestions HERE on a similar thread yesterday :)

It looks like 20w is the way to go, but not sure if powerful enough (where I live anyway) :(

OP
OP
Charlie

Charlie

Free Member
May 16, 2015
Funster No
MH
Auto Sleeper Kemerton.
Exp
Im a newbie
HaHa thanks for that ! I just read some of it but all the talk of this amount of watts volts and so on left me standing !

All I want to know is what will work and where to get it. The numbers mean nothing at all to me..

Thanks !

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

pappajohn

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 26, 2007
Dark side of the moon
Funster No
Exp
Since 2005
HaHa thanks for that ! I just read some of it but all the talk of this amount of watts volts and so on left me standing !

All I want to know is what will work and where to get it. The numbers mean nothing at all to me..

Thanks !
in a word....NO.

a 20watt panel may provide 1 amp....in full summer sun.
the little ones are inefficient and no where near powerful enough due to the low and weak sun in winter.
if you want to throw away your money look on ebay....but opt for a 50 watt version.
they will work fine on the dashboard providing, of course, it is south facing.

DBK

LIFE MEMBER
Jan 9, 2013
Plympton, Devon
Funster No
MH
PVC, Murvi Morocco
Exp