Charlies guide to polishing Glass. (1 Viewer)

Charlie

Free Member
May 16, 2015
Herefordshire / Worcestershire borders .
Funster No
MH
Auto Sleeper Kemerton.
Exp
Im a newbie
This guide is to cover the removal of scratches from Glass. Glass as in your windscreens and automotive windows NOT the plastics on Motorhome windows.

Polishing glass can give huge rewards especially if your windscreens have become scratched from say a rogue wiper or has become swirled through washing or even scratched on the inside fro diamond rings on fingers when wiping condensation away.

The only screens where care must be taken are those with heater elements in them like many Ford or Jaguar vehicles. All the rest carry little or no risk of damage but Always try a small area out of site before committing to a full window !

For glass we use a product called Cerium Oxide. This comes in a powder form and is mixed with water to a fine paste and applied to the window on a soft to medium pad and polished by machine.

Polishing by hand would not be possible in this area as it would take an enormous amount of time !

Polish by machine using a soft to medium hard pad at low speed. Number 2 or 3 is about right.

It doesn't really matter how deep the scratches are on normal glass as you can polish quite deeply (Within reason and paying attention to heated screen elements) .

I have removed really deep scratches from glass even when done by the dreaded diamond rings.

A heavily marked sometimes lightly chipped screen can be restored to true optical clarity ! Better than new in fact !

Cerium Oxide is available of Ebay for very little money !
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/REGIPOL-C...hash=item3a9d2293ea:m:mn2Gmqto4Oq83oWAZVUqV1Q

MattR

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 18, 2013
Beds
Funster No
MH
Panel van
Exp
Years
Thanks for this - I have a windscreen with lots of small haze scratches from previous owner using the windscreen wipers with grit on it.