Arriving Bilbao & heading South (1 Viewer)

Teuchter

LIFE MEMBER
Deceased RIP
Nov 4, 2014
Lee on the Solent
Funster No
MH
Hymer Mercedes MLI 580
Exp
I have been caravanning for 32 years but in 2014 I have"gone over to the dark side"
In January we plan to arrive in Bilbao and travel South to the Med. (a journey we have done several times before) where we will tour for 2 months.

This time we would like to have an automated way of paying for Spanish toll roads as my wife has difficulty reaching the manual pay booths.

Any advice on pre purchasing a Spanish electronic toll tag before departing Blighty or getting one on arrival in Bilbao would be most welcome :)

Lindacarole

Free Member
Mar 23, 2014
Oxfordshire
Funster No
MH
Hobby Siesta Van
Exp
Now a year !
Will watch this post as we are about 3 weeks after you and this sounds like a good idea.
Did not use the toll roads at all in Spain this year so a complete novice.
Hope some lovely funster out there helps us both out!
LC

PeteH

Free Member
Nov 22, 2007
East Riding of Yorkshire
Funster No
MH
Rapido, 999M.
Exp
18+yrs plus 25+Towing
Generally No to Tolls. Like life however there are exceptions. One is the A63 Round Bayone. Keeps you out of the local rat run.

Pete

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

jumar

LIFE MEMBER
Nov 6, 2012
Spain
Funster No
MH
Hymer Tramp
Exp
Since 1994
Are you sure your route involves TOLLS? There aren't that many Toll sections in Spain, other than the Med Route south, and that wouldn't be a route from Bilbao. Madrid has a Toll section on one route, but this can be avoided by using the Toll Free Motorways. (Autovias)
You might post again, asking, Whats the chance of snow in January between Bilbao and southern Spain, last year some problems with heavy snowfall, but the snow ploughs are in place and very quick to getting it sorted.

Apr 25, 2012
Near Truro, Cornwall
Funster No
MH
A Class
Exp