Importing a second hand motorhome (1 Viewer)

Jul 5, 2013
Tunbridge Wells, Tunbridge Wells, UK
Funster No
MH
A class
Exp
Since 2013
Motorhome prices seem very much cheaper in Europe at the moment and I am thinking of buying a secondhand one there. I have seen several threads setting out in detail how to buy new and import, including dealing with VAT etc. But can anybody help me with secondhand ones please.

I am thinking about ones that 2 years or so old, so they should all have a CoC. And I would probably buy from a dealer.

What is the best (cheapest) country to buy secondhand in?
Does VAT have to be dealt with as with a new one?
How do I pay for it and get it over from wherever I buy it back to home?
How do I then get it registered in this country?
And finally are there any problems with insuring imports?

Thanks for any help you can give me.

Silver-Fox

LIFE MEMBER
Sep 5, 2014
Cheltenham Spa
Funster No
MH
Rapido
Exp
im a not so newbie
Might be worth doing a search first

There has been plenty of posts about this recently

Good luck with your purchase (y)

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

StefAndDi

Free Member
Nov 3, 2014
Near St. Austell, Cornwall
Funster No
MH
Ceased motorhoming 1/3/16
Exp
2010 to 2016
Peter,
I see that the N & B that you expressed an interest in has now been flagged up as sold. Somebody's got themself a lovely van.
Stef.

TheWM

Free Member
Feb 24, 2015
London
Funster No
MH
Rapido 9010df
Exp
Newbie, but over 10 years in a campervan
I did it in May. Easy.

No VAT @ that age.

Paying as you would pay in the UK.

Insurance can be found if you do a bit of searching- depends on level of cover.

Bit of paperwork with VCA and DVLA in the UK but can be turned around in 4-6 weeks.

Germany, France and Belgium all have decent dealers at fair prices.

OP
OP
peterc10
Jul 5, 2013
Funster No
MH
A class
Exp
Since 2013
I did it in May. Easy.

No VAT @ that age.

Paying as you would pay in the UK.