Free Member
Aug 14, 2015
Yeovil
Funster No
MH
MWB coach build
Exp
I'm a newbie
Simple question, why did the stable door bite the dust?

We have one on our mid 90's MH but wandering around modern ones, none have stable doors, I find ours very useful, especially having a dog, he can't get out but can be nosey. It also makes the van seem a bit bigger.

Is it a security thing?

funflair

LIFE MEMBER
Dec 11, 2013
Guisborough
Funster No
MH
MORELO palace
Exp
since 2012
Less draughts and cold spots.

Possibly not that many peeps want it.

Martin

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Carol

LIFE MEMBER
Oct 2, 2007
North Wales.
Funster No
MH
A class
Exp
18 years s Motorhome (33years caravans)
Agree that's one thing I would really like on my van, I do wish it was a option.

Nov 30, 2009
Pickering
Funster No
MH
PVC the PUG
Exp
Since 2009 with motorhomes several caravans then tents before that.
Our old MH had a large window in the hab door that opened up , so a similar thing. Handy in the winter if someone came a knocking for something do you didn't gave to open the full door.
Any ways , because of us liking this , we made sure we put a big sliding window in our PVC door . That way we only have to open the window , not the whole thing, if someone comes a knocking.

Jaws

LIFE MEMBER
Sep 26, 2008
Thetford Norfolk
Funster No
MH
C class, Chieftain
Exp
since 2006 ( I think ! )
One of the things we do like about the Autotrail is a window that slides right down in the door.
Not as good as a split door but better than nowt

Dec 28, 2011
Stokesley, North Yorks
Funster No
MH
JoaCamp75Q by Pilote
Exp
Still learning since 2010
Is it not something to do with the fact that MHs now have to have burst proof doors in case of an accident, and stable doors don't meet the criteria ?
I could be wrong but I am sure an informed person will know for definite and tell us.

scotjimland

LIFE MEMBER
Jul 25, 2007
Funster No
MH
A Woosh bang