Free Member
Oct 12, 2015
devon
Funster No
MH
Luton
Exp
I'm a newbie
We have hella wrap around tail lights on our 2006 autoquest, the drivers side brake and tail light isn't working. I've changed the bulb with no success, the connection is a little corroded and the bulb holder doesn't fit very well. Has anyone had similar problems and come up with an ingenious solution to this problem? Can you just replace the holder alone or does it just need a good clean?

jollyrodger

LIFE MEMBER
Oct 1, 2012
Devon/Cornwall
Funster No
MH
'Obby
Exp
Since 1968'ish
Hi personally I would check continuity along the line /fuse to the bulb before spending any beer money :)but hope you get it sorted

Upvote 0

pappajohn

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 26, 2007
Dark side of the moon
Funster No
Exp
Since 2005
Try a good clean with some coarse wet n dry then wire wool and wd40.
Only 2 x screws holding the metal strip on.
I dont think you can get the metal strip with the bulb holders on its own. (Could be wrong)
A new complete light assembly is around £65

Also ensure there is no corrosion on the actual bulbs and check the spade terminals on the wiring....replace if they, or the wire, are corroded.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Upvote 0
OP
OP
W

Willnr

Free Member
Oct 12, 2015
devon
Funster No
MH
Luton
Exp
I'm a newbie
Thanks for that, I'll get the multimeter out next then. All the relative fuses are ok.

Upvote 0
OP
OP
W

Willnr

Free Member
Oct 12, 2015
devon
Funster No
MH
Luton
Exp
I'm a newbie
And the wd40, 65 quid is a lot of beer. I know which I prefer to spend the money on:D

Upvote 0

TheBig1

LIFE MEMBER
Nov 27, 2011
Dorset
Funster No
MH
A class
Exp
many many years! since I was a kid
Its a very common issue that comes up time and again. you are fortunate the van is 2006 so prior to canbus wiring. one long term solution is to change the bulbs out for LEDs and solder them directly into the wiring