Leaving a van on permanent hook up ? (1 Viewer)

Charlie

Free Member
May 16, 2015
Herefordshire / Worcestershire borders .
Funster No
MH
Auto Sleeper Kemerton.
Exp
Im a newbie
I read on another Forum where a chap leaves his van on permanent hook up when parked up say perhaps through winter. It was because he reckons the fridges in these MHs of ours don't like being switched on and off.

It just doesn't seem right to me. But what do I know ?

When everything is off there is less risk of say an electrical fire ? OK the 12V is still live but all the bigger boxes are off ?

How water proof would the blue plug on the outside of the van be over longer periods ?

My plan is to hook up every couple of weeks just to keep the batteries topped up and leave the fridge turned off with the door open .

Opinions ?

big map

LIFE MEMBER
Mar 8, 2009
Poole
Funster No
MH
A Class
Exp
Since 2009
We leave our van plugged in constantly but the blue plug is inside (as is the van)

scotjimland

LIFE MEMBER
Jul 25, 2007
Suffolk Coastal District, UK
Funster No
MH
Timberland
With a modern charger, there is no problem keeping it plugged in all the time to keep the batteries charged, the 16A Blue plug is designed to be used outside 24/7 .. I wouldn't power the fridge or any other 240v appliance.. no point.

My batteries, both engine and habitation, are kept in good shape with the solar panels...

Before a trip I will plug in the 240v for 48hrs before travelling and switch on the fridge to get it down to temperature..

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

CWH

LIFE MEMBER
Jan 29, 2014
UK
Funster No
MH
WildAx PVC
Exp
From November 2013
Always on EHU when at home.
We therefore have no worries about the batteries. Our fridge is off.

Plug specification requires it to be waterproof (see some of the answers in your earlier thread)
Broken Link Removed

GJH

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 20, 2007
Acklam, Teesside, originally Glossop
Funster No
MH
None, now sold
Exp
2006 to 2022