Can't work out if I have freesat or free to air. help please (1 Viewer)

Michelle CV

Free Member
Sep 2, 2015
Nottingham
Funster No
MH
Low Profile Coachbuilt
Exp
I'm a newbie
Hi

I am struggling to get my head around the set up in my new van. I have an automatic Maxview system with a controller in the wardrobe and have no problem (now) in getting a signal. What I don't understand is what channels I am getting. I have a visionplus TV which I have tuned to the Astra 28 Satalite and have loads of channels. However, when I compared the channels to the list for freesat the are different - does this mean that I have free to air rather than Freesat? Also is there an idiots guide to Sat TV anyone can point me to as it is difficult enough to understand in this country so goodness knows how we will cope in Portugal later this year when my hubby will be wanting to tune into Portuguese channels - how on earth does anyone know which satallites do what?

Badknee

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 25, 2014
notloB
Funster No
MH
Vantage Neo
Exp
Living the dream.
I would imagine you have Free View, Free Sat you need a dish.(n)
What you can do is get a telly guide like What's on TV and it has channel numbers on each listing. Check those out Free View against Free Sat.

OP
OP
M

Michelle CV

Free Member
Sep 2, 2015
Nottingham
Funster No
MH
Low Profile Coachbuilt
Exp
I'm a newbie
no I have a satellite dish but I read that some satellite decoders give freesat and other free to air - it is definitely not freeview - I don't have an ariel

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Feb 9, 2008
SW Scotland
Funster No
MH
LP Coachbuilt
Exp
Since 2008 after caravanning for 20 years
Freesat is free to air, Freeview is free to air terrestrial TV .Freesat is satellite TV. Does that make sense?

Satandpcguy

Funster
Jun 18, 2008
Gandia, Valencia, Spain
Funster No
MH
Don't own one yet
Exp
None
Freesat offers selection of free to air channels... not all.
Freeview is UK TV via a TV Aerial.