Ringleader
Jul 19, 2007
Sutton on Sea, UK
Funster No
MH
Adria Panel Van.
Exp
Since 1988
I've been putting this post off for a couple of years, but now finally have to make it. I don’t normally put things off, in fact quite the opposite; but whenever this has risen to the top of my to-do list, I’ve always somehow found an excuse to shove it back to the bottom. Anyway.. Here goes…. shock horror We need to put subs up!

Subs started here in 2010 at £12 a year and because so many more subscribed than we anticipated, within a month we had our overhead covered and were able to drop them to £10.

At that time, I was a very well paid, full-time Security Consultant running a small motorhome club as a hobby. However, MotorhomeFun has grown so much that this situation has completely reversed. MotorhomeFun now consumes most of our waking hours leaving little time for anything else.

We have agonised. Might a subscription rise lose us members? We hope not…We presently have just over 2000 subscribers. But knowing people as we do, the increased costs is likely to put plenty of potential members off joining and make some members decide not to renew. We worried about this, but in the end decided that if this did actually happen, would it be so bad? Some would say our rallies are big enough already anyway.

The situation is pretty simple we need to earn more. Sian and I are lucky, we can earn elsewhere, but we cannot do this and run MotorhomeFun at the same time. It’s impossible.

We could operate like other clubs and ask for volunteers. We could get others to run the Funster Stand at rallies, have helpers on the forums or helping with admin and cut our workload. We could, but we don’t want to, we enjoy it too much. And anyway, all that stuff is a step toward having a committee and many here know what we think of those. So..