Detailing Split from Motor Klenz Thread (1 Viewer)

Charlie

Free Member
May 16, 2015
Herefordshire / Worcestershire borders .
Funster No
MH
Auto Sleeper Kemerton.
Exp
Im a newbie
a set of matching decals from the manufacturer is what is needed, not something knocked up to look similar. A third party decal job will devalue the van, as might concealing the damage. you cannot repair a damaged paint surface properly without proper prep work and painting

When polishing out deeper scratches or marring to paint or GRP a PTG (Paint Thickness Gauge) must be used.

These come in two types.
One measures the combined thickness of the paint and lacquer. Modern paints are lacquer over base coat and only the lacquer should be polished. If you polish through the lacquer the surface will require re painting.

The PTG I have identifies the individual thicknesses of the lacquer and the base. This allows me to see exactly how much material I have .

As we polish the lacquer of course becomes thinner so by using a PTG we eliminate the threat or danger of burning through the all important lacquer coat.

Top end gauge like I use also identifies the thickness of gel court over a fibreglass weave.

The gauge I use costs nearly £1500 but a cheap one that measures just the combined thickness can be bought for around 200 quid.

A top quality decal is essential. You can buy 3 5 0r 7 year qualities which is the length of time the decal is guaranteed NOT to fade. High numbers also means better quality material is used.

Judge Mental

Funster
Deceased RIP
Sep 2, 2009
Sarth London
Funster No
MH
Possl 636 FR panel van
Exp
1994 and beyond...
you know your stuff Charlie..shame members did not see your input before going for these types of services...

sallylillian

LIFE MEMBER
Oct 29, 2011
Falmouth, Cornwall
Funster No
MH
Palace Liner 90LO
Exp
When polishing out deeper scratches or marring to paint or GRP a PTG (Paint Thickness Gauge) must be used.

These come in two types.