Gaslight Propane with 37mbar regulator - can I use it on my new motorhome (1 Viewer)

Michelle CV

Free Member
Sep 2, 2015
Nottingham
Funster No
MH
Low Profile Coachbuilt
Exp
I'm a newbie
Our new Dethleffs doesn't come with a gas bottle and the regulator is not on the wall but screws into a bottle.

We have a 10kg gaslight cylinder which has a different regulator - 37mbar rather than 30 which is one the regulator in the van. We are planning to install Gas it refillable but wondered if we can use our gaslight bottle in the meantime?

This is our first every motorhome and the pressure (no pun intended) of trying to understand all the technical stuff is enormous - I feel like I need a course in electrics, gas and plumbing before I even start enjoying it lol

R

Robert Clark

Deleted User
Why not remove the 37mbar regulator and connect the bottle to the regulator in the van?

jumar

LIFE MEMBER
Nov 6, 2012
Spain
Funster No
MH
Hymer Tramp
Exp
Since 1994
As your van is new, it will be fitted out as standard with 30mb inboard gas regulator system
The cylinder you refer to will need only an outlet adaptor not a regulator.

If you tried to pre- regulate at the cylinder at 37 mb then again at the van at 30mb you wouldnt get a flow.

So to sum up (boring) The adaptor connected via hp hose attaches to either a first stage reducer or directly to the inboard 39 mb reducer.

And finally Gas comes in cylinders and beer comes in bottles, old joke I used to tell many years ago to trainees.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

ludo

LIFE MEMBER
Jul 12, 2011
Lincolnshire
Funster No
MH
Van Conversion
Exp
Since 1990
As your van is new, it will be fitted out as standard with 30mb inboard gas regulator system
The cylinder you refer to will need only an outlet adaptor not a regulator.