Engine Re-map for Ducato 2800 cc (1 Viewer)

reynardracer

Free Member
Aug 10, 2015
Twyford
Funster No
MH
A class Hymer
Exp
I'm a newbie
Hi All,
I am a newbie here having just bought a Hymer B644g for use in towing my race car to circuits and then staying for the weekend. We cannot wait for our first outing in her after we pick her up next Sunday.

Reason for the post is to ask if anyone has had a vehicle like this 'chipped/remapped' as I have a fairly large trailer which might prove a bit of a burden to a circa 2000 2.8 Fiat Ducato. I have read that this type of modification can produce greater torque and better fuel economy.

I live in Twyford near Reading in Berkshire so any one with any experience on the subject I would be keen to hear from.

Cheers
Pete & Sue

Nov 6, 2013
East Sussex
Funster No
MH
Hymer B574DL
Exp
Since 2011 (tugger for 20 before that)
Hi and :welc:
I believe that remapping puts extra strain on the clutch but those more informed will be along shortly (y)

Nov 4, 2011
Uk
Funster No
MH
A class
Exp
As your motorhome is a 2.8 circa 2000 it's probably a mechanical pump type Diesel engine and as such cannot be "chipped/ remapped"
I've heard of somebody having the injectors changed which they said helped, not sure if it was on here or Facts.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

dave newell

Free Member
Oct 31, 2008
Telford, Shropshire
Funster No
MH
Home converted PVC
Exp
26yrs
I'd agree with Manic, on a year 2K it probably is mechanical so not chippable/remapable. If its any consolation I tow a 1500KG trailer/car outfit behind my 1996 Iveco Daily Turbo with just 100BHP (although I suspect its actually less than that) and apart from big hills taking the wind out of its sails its fine. Just plan your journeys to allow extra time when towing.

What car and what type of racing do you do by the way? I hillclimb and sprint a mk1 MX5.

D.

OP
OP
R

reynardracer

Free Member
Aug 10, 2015
Twyford
Funster No
MH
A class Hymer
Exp
I'm a newbie