Martin OSullivan

Free Member
Sep 7, 2013
Hornchurch Essex
Funster No
MH
Transit LWB Self Built
Exp
So, Ive had an invertor in my 'van since I bought it but ive never used it as im not sure what can be run etc
Cant find how to attach photo, think its 1500w max approx 4x2x9 inches. So when I plug it into my EHU outlet, I hear the fan kick in and a strange sort of buzzing noise, is this normal?

What am I likely t be able to run and for how long?
2 x brand new 110ah batts but only one connected at present

would like to run TV, chargers etc, TV is 12v also but I dont have cigarette lighter in the back yet

How long an you keep them plagged in??

Any advice or tips appreciated, complete novice in inverters s dont hold bck

regards
Martin

Aug 10, 2012
cambridge
Funster No
MH
Globecar
Exp
since2001
Mmmmmm

Hi Martin
It will give you 240v when you are off EHU
It will flatten one battery quickly
It will only run appliances rated below 1500w
Run everything on 12 v, only when you desperate revert to the inverter
Connect your second battery!!
You are unwittingly asking quite complex questions :)
inverters are difficult beasts to tame, but keep asking

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

BwB

LIFE MEMBER
Apr 3, 2011
Suffolk UK
Funster No
MH
Resting b'twix vans
Exp
Since 1990
How long your batteries will last depends on the load being drawn by the inverter (plus anything else powered by the batteries at the same time) if, as your post suggests, you are running a connection from your inverter to your electric hook up, then you're likely to be running the motorhomes battery charger and possibly the fridge has flipped to mains power too (if it has an auto energy system). In my opinion, you're better off running a specific item off the inverter so you know what's going on and can estimate battery life.

CandC

LIFE MEMBER
Jan 22, 2014
Cornwall
Funster No
MH
Old School :D
Exp
Used to go with the olds! Now I have one of my own :)